Throw Back Thursday; A Boy And His Tractor

My Aunt Verna in the back and my Mother Veronica in front. What a pair!

My Aunt Verna in the back and my Mother Veronica in front. What a pair!

I had been working on organizing some old family photographs when I came across these photographs. They were taken in 1955 at Macomb Park, Schuyler Falls, N.Y.. Great care was taken in writing the date and place these pictures were taken. Because of this I know this was the eighth wedding anniversary for my parents and my Uncle Lawrence and Aunt Verna. They were married in a double ceremony. No names were noted, and I will take care of that detail.

My mother and her sister Verna were very close. They could argue with the best of them, but don’t ever come between them. I use to stay at my aunt and uncle’s place for about a week each summer. I always had a good time and looked forward to the visit each summer. One summer my aunt introduced me to the great taste of tuna fish sandwiches. My mother who could not stand the smell of any fish claimed my aunt did that to get at her. When I made a tuna fish sandwich at home, I had to very carefully rinse out the can and clean all the dishes used. I could not leave a trace of tuna anywhere.

I seem to be deep in thought on my toy tractor. Perhaps I was wondering when the food was going to be ready.

I seem to be deep in thought on my toy tractor. Perhaps I was wondering when the food was going to be ready.

Aunt Verna showing how the tractor should be ridden.

Aunt Verna showing how the tractor should be ridden.

Our family had many such picnics as pictured here. The were great times, and I am happy to say I have many pictures of them.

This entry was posted in Whats in a Picture? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Throw Back Thursday; A Boy And His Tractor

  1. dkheeter says:

    Reminds me of my Mom & Aunt Bea. What great memories! You had a smokin tractor!

  2. Jim McKeever says:

    This is great, Charles … The tractor is a classic. (Any idea what became of it?) and thank you to our ancestors who wrote details on the back of photos!

    • chmjr2 says:

      I cannot say for certain what happen to the tractor. When I was older and had out grown the tractor, one of Dad’s co-workers was having a bad year financially. He had a large family. My father fixed and cleaned up my old toys and gave them to him to use as Christmas gifts. My tractor may have been one of them.

  3. Amy says:

    Such sweet pictures and memories.

  4. What fun, and what a cutie you were! You know you were thinking about how you’d write about that moment one day! NOT! LOL my Mom was close to her sisters as well, but I don’t have any cute pics like this! I love it! Thanks for sharing!

    • chmjr2 says:

      Your comment made think about who would have thought that those pictures could be shared as they are now. Pictures taken at a family picnic 59 years ago now sent all over the internet. The changes we have seen in our life!

  5. erica voolich says:

    such wonderful memories.

  6. Pancho says:

    God bless the diligent labelers! What great old pictures. The bane of my existence as a kid was tuna fish with “things” in it. My mom made it nice and plain, but others would foul it up with pickles, onion and whatnot.

  7. Those are wonderful pictures that made me smile. Tuna fish sandwiches belong in everyone’s childhood.

  8. Anabel Marsh says:

    My Mum and her sister had a double wedding too! Greenock, Scotland,1956. They are still close.

  9. I always enjoy your blog. Photos and memories and whimsy. And the comments too – connects the world.

  10. What a hoot! Such fun sisters. 🙂

  11. EmilyAnn Frances says:

    Hi there Photos that include some note about the date, location and who is in it are a great help for the future generations. Having photos such as the ones in this posting will inspire even more postings based on the memories and details they bring back.

    I remember that tuna was always one of my favorite lunch foods. Tuna on rye with lettuce and extra mayo. Yet when my Mom made a Tuna Crunch casserole I didn’t enjoy it. I think that was due to the aroma of the fish being much stronger since it had been baked and was now very hot.

    Are you thinking of doing a series on your Mom and her sister? That should not only bring back great memories but get readers to recall theirs. Many of us had aunties that we remember still and who shared a great part of our childhood. Love your Aunt on the tractor!

  12. ccrooksphoto says:

    Love that you posting these old photos and writing about them.

Leave a Reply

