A Genealogy Smile

More truth in this than I care to confess.

More truth in this than I care to confess.

Henry and clarissa Peterson Moore. My Great Grandparents.

Henry and clarissa Peterson Moore.
My Great Grandparents.

My wife looking at family graves.

My wife looking at family graves.

Saw this on Pintrest and had to share. How many of us are guilty of something like this? I have gone on “vacations” and have had my wife sitting for hours at a micro-film reader going through miles of film. Besides she is better at spotting what I am looking for than I am. She also can tell you about many of the county, city, and town clerks throughout New York State. Did I forget to mention also the many wonderful genealogy and historical societies that we have visited. Then there was the day we spent on mostly back dirt roads in the Pennsylvania mountains. We spent that day from early morning looking for a family cemetery. We found many cemeteries but when we removed the weeds and over grown bushes from the grave stones they were not our family. It was a hot humid day of hard work. It was near sundown and we were hot, dirty, and tired when we decided to call it a day. So as we were driving back to where we were staying I spotted what turn out to be a tall head stone on top of a steep hill. We had spent a rugged day already but I was not going to give up. I pulled the car over and we climbed the hill. We cleaned up the grave stones and we had discovered our family cemetery! We had to work quickly to clean it up and take pictures as the sun was already setting and daylight was going fast. We could not go back the next day as we had to leave for home. . Above is a picture of the head stone I saw from the road. It turned out to be my Great Grandparents. This picture has been copied many times and posted on ancestry.com but it was our hard work that made it possible.

But the truth be told my wife has been very supportive of my work into our family history. She has proven again and again to be a valuable asset. Her sharp eyes have spotted many items that I never would have seen. Her suggestions have saved many outings and archive researches. If I could only get her to do the research and detail work I would have it made. But she will read what I put together and point out any discrepancies that she is so good at spotting. I also have to admit that she is very tolerant of the many hours that I put into my genealogy hobby.

The other picture is my wife as we were finding family graves in a well-kept up cemetery. This is in Oak Hill Cemetery, in Nyack, N.Y.. They were very helpful to us. I had called earlier in the week as we were going to be there Sunday when the office was closed. They left a cemetery map and also put an orange cone by the grave stones, to make it easier for us. A far cry from that day in Pennsylvania.
.

This entry was posted in Whats in a Picture? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to A Genealogy Smile

  1. I can relate to this entire post! Genealogists just vacation differently than everybody else!!

  2. So true. But don’t we met a lot of wonderful people along the way.

  3. Love the cemetery tent! Haha 🙂

  4. “Vacationing with Genealogist” was a hoot! Thanks for posting that…

  5. Sheryl says:

    I can relate to your post–my eyes can hurt after a few hours of looking at microfilm, and there’s nothing more frustrating than not being able to find family graves. But, it’s so rewarding to find the elusive article or a particular gravestone after looking for hours. And, that seems to more than compensate for the frustrations.

    • chmjr2 says:

      Yes my wife has what it takes to do those microfilm searches. It’s very true that when you find something you forget all about the hard work.

  6. I relate to this 100%. I can’t wait to take a few vacation days to research two old lawsuits my parents brought against a neighbor back in the mid-1960s. I was too young to fully comprehend what was going on and my parents never clearly explained the resolution to me. Getting the facts will grant me closure in this matter and help me understand why the neighbors were not always neighborly when my Mom was involved in something yet could be very communicative when my Dad took control and strived for a resolution to some matter.

  7. Jenny Gower says:

    I had a similar experience in Italy. My daughter and grandson and I left my son-in-law with another grandson too young to be out in the heat at the bed and breakfast so we could explore the cemetery my 4th great-grandparent were at, but we didn’t know where. No one was working and anyone we saw didn’t speak English, and all we could do was separate and just search. After an hour and a half I saw my daughter coming towards me with that looks that says we’re done. I was getting ready to give up and right then I saw the wall. All I could do was cry, I was so happy!

    • chmjr2 says:

      Your 4th great grandparents that’s great. On my Moore line I can only go to my 2nd great grandparents, and I have no idea where they are buried. Sounds like you had a great trip to Italy. Thanks for reading my blog and your comments.

  8. Su Leslie says:

    So true! I’m going on holiday ALONE for three weeks to the UK to do some research. I have (living) family there too – and they are being very understanding that my need to know comes first!!!

  9. gaphodoc says:

    I am a firm believer in serendipity with genealogy or any historical research. Enjoyed this post, thanks for visiting my blog, too.

  10. Dave Robison says:

    My wife is very supportive. By that I mean that she understands that at least one afternoon will be spent in some ancient graveyard somewhere here in New England. Invariably, I find a few graves of folks that may be related too one of us in one way or another. We both have lines dating back to Plymouth Colony. I take the pictures, she takes the notes…a perfect marriage??!!

  11. chmjr2 says:

    Dave, it looks like you have it all worked out. Since both you and your wife have lines dating back to Plymouth Colony, we have a good chance of being cousins. Perhaps one day we will bump into each other at a cemetery. While we are above ground that is.:)

  12. jenorv says:

    Needless to say my wife has been enlisted also and not only for records, but I drag her along on FINDAGRAVE missions. In my defense we look for her family as well ha ha.

  13. Congratulations on your cemetery exploits. I visited a cemetery yesterday and found myself digging (with my hands) around flat gravestones. I wouldn’t want to tell anyone how I got my hands dirty, but I was able to clear-off my great-grandmother’s grave as a result.

  14. chmjr2 says:

    That is a good thing. I hope you took some pictures. I carry small gardening tools in my car. You never know when they will come in handy. Thanks for your comment and reading my blog.

  15. fvlocke says:

    I drag my kids along on little genie outings to cemetaries, armed with lists of names and prizes of various sweeties when they find one of the names on the lists. Kind of like a genealogy raffle. I am determined to “let them know where they came from”. They are often more interested in the sweets though! Ahhh well, my research has been put to good use twice this year though when they both sailed through their history projects at school haha – cheating little so n so’s copied all my hard work 🙂

  16. chmjr2 says:

    I agree with you “to let them know where they came from”. Also it is a great way to learn history. Thanks for reading my blog and your comments.

  17. fvlocke says:

    no problem 🙂 I am new to this blogging lark, but am actually quite enjoying reading what other people have to say about stuff 🙂

  18. We are a dedicated bunch…we genealogists. I have been the lone ranger in trekking the countryside most of the time, but I am a gatherer and end up with friendships and wonderful visits to historians and distant cousins as a result. My grown kids have gone on these field trips with me and I believe I have passed along the ‘bug’. My son came back from Japan to study and teach and his family hadn’t arrived as yet…so I invited him along to a field trip. He had ‘the fever’ almost immediately and plunged through overgrowth that I hadn’t the fear (or is it common sense) to tackle and found my 2nd great grandparents’ and my 3rd great grandmother’s monuments. We cut away the brush and refined the path for my elderly brother to make his way over and we stood there…laughing and crying. Quite a moment.

  19. chmjr2 says:

    What a great story. Have you written about it yet? Or did I miss it? I do thank you for reading my blog and your comments.

  20. Val Sanford says:

    So totally done this! Great post.

  21. chmjr2 says:

    Yes Val most of us have to either our credit or shame. Depends on who you talk to. Thanks for reading my blog and your comments.

  22. Silverleaf says:

    I’m not a genealogist but I can relate! I recently dragged my son (he was willing!) through a cemetery while on holiday and, when my mother and I were vacationing in Ireland, I dragged her through beehive huts, ogham stone sites and other historical hot spots.

  23. Hi – I’m not a genealogist however I have done a lot of research for my writing into the times (WWI and WWII) that affected my grandparents in order to write historical fiction. My husband has indulged me by taking trips through the battlefields, cemeteries and memorials of WWI across northern France and Belgium. And now he’s supporting my efforts by helping me publish my first novel 🙂

    Love the photo of the tent!

    • chmjr2 says:

      Please let me know when you have finished your novel. Yes we do put our spouses through many misadventures that we seek out with regularity. Thanks for reading my post and your comments.

  24. kjw616 says:

    Loved reading this story. I once set up a meeting in a cemetery with cousin I had been corresponding with for sometime. Some may think it is creepy, but I bet most of you can understand that it was a quite fitting spot.

Leave a Reply

